Clean it up
If you have enabled the "
Allow fast saves" feature, earlier versions of your document, that you thought had been deleted, may still be readable.
If the document was edited with "
Track Changes" enabled, a name is associated with each change. You can get rid of all the personal information with a few simple settings.
Choose
Options from the
Tools menu, click on the
Save tab, and uncheck the box labeled "
Allow fast saves". Now click on the
Security tab and check the box titled "
Remove personal information from this file on save".
In Word 2003 the check box's title is: "
Remove personal information from file properties on save". When you save the file, the
Author,
Manager,
Company, and
Last saved by fields are cleared. Names in comments or edits are changed to simply Author. Any routing slip or e-mail header information is also removed. If the document contains tracked changes, you may want to accept them all before saving.
The
Allow fast saves option is global. The
Remove personal information option is specific to the current file and is present only in Word 2002 and later. If you want that option to be the default, click on the
File Locations tab in the
Tools>
Options dialog and note the folder containing user templates. In that folder, open the file
Normal.dot. Check the
Remove personal information box as noted above, then save and close the file. All new files created from this point on will have that feature enabled by default.
Also see:
Charles Kenyon's Word
Users Guide:
Confidentiality and MetaData in Word Documents
See all Topics
word