Showing posts with label Customize. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Customize. Show all posts

Saturday, April 14, 2018

Default Save

Choose your own location



When you choose to save most Office files, the Save dialog box defaults to the Documents or My Documents folder.

(The following directions work in 2007+, but you need to click on the Office button in the upper left corner of the Window)

Word
you can change the default location by going to Tools>Options. On the "File Locations" tab you can modify the storage location.
Excel
Tools>Options. On the "General" tab change the default location.
PowerPoint
uses Tools>Options and the "Save" tab.
Access
Tools>Options and the "General" tab for Databases and Projects
Publisher
Tools>Options "General".
Outlook
will make you take an underground tour into the Registry to change the location to save e-mail attachments.
FrontPage/Expression Web
appears to require the same sort of spelunking.


Change the folder where e-mail messages and attachments are saved


If you don't want to change the default, but would like to be able to quickly go to an alternate site, open the Save or Save Attachment dialog box. On the left side of the box is the Places Navigation bar. If you click the Desktop icon, that location will be used to save the file.

You can add spots to the bar. Browse to the specific folder. Highlight the folder and click the down arrow beside the Tools option. Select "Add to My Places."

The file or e-mail attachment can then be saved where you want.


See all Topics

Friday, March 09, 2018

Curly Quotes be gone

Stop them up front


Word, by default, uses curly (“ ”) rather than straight quotes(" ").

Here's an article that shows how to go into Word options and turn this Auto feature off.

Next we need to turn off Moe and Larry




Curly quotes


See all Topics

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Page Breaks

Demo tutorial


You can control when Word decides to break for a new page.
Ctrl+Enter is the keyboard shortcut, but there are a number of variations.

This MS link has both Demos and text tutorials.
Page breaks

BTW, a merged document is made up of Section breaks, not Page breaks.

For ease of printing, Replace ^b with ^m


See all Topics

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Tab Leaders

You can lead a tab to ...........


Setting Tab Leaders in Word

Fred Smith.........................$44.59

This makes your list easier to read

  1. Select the line on which you want to create a tab

  2. Click on the Format menu and click on the Tabs menu item
    (you will see the Tabs dialog box)

  3. In the Tab Stop Position field enter the distance to the last column: 5", 6" or what ever is appropriate

  4. Then select the tab alignment; Decimal, Right, Center or Left

  5. Select the type of leader to use

  6. Click Set and then OK
Enter the name, or first entry, and then touch the Tab key. Word will automatically enter as many leading characters as required. When you can type the amount, it will be aligned on the decimal or any other alignment you might have chosen.
Here's what it looks like in Word 2007+:



Also:

About.com:
Creating Tab Leader Lines


See all Topics

Thursday, October 26, 2017

Insert Line Breaks With Code

Label Captions


If you've ever needed to insert line breaks in a message box prompt, you most likely built a string that incorporated a line feed or carriage return character. Unfortunately, label objects aren't as forgiving when it comes to using these characters.

If you're setting a label's Caption property with code, you'll find that the special control characters are interpreted as squares, since they're otherwise un-displayable.
To successfully insert a line break in a label caption, you need to include both a line feed character and a carriage return character, entered consecutively.

To do so, you can use the Chr() function, such as:

Me.Label1.Caption = "Line 1" & _
Chr(13) & Chr(10) & "Line 2"

However, you can also simplify your code using an built-in constant:
Me.Label1.Caption = "Line 1" & vbCrLf & "Line 2"



See all Topics

Saturday, August 19, 2017

Slashed Zero

Oh!

ø

There is a discussion of the slashed zero at:
How to Insert a Slashed Zero (0 Overlaid with a /)

You can also download the Monaco font that has a slashed ø
(Monaco is an embeddable font)

Andale.ttf (Mono) has a dotted 0

Seagullscientific.com has a font called Crystal

Windows has a free font editor. Type eudcedit on the Start>Run line.
Vic Laurie has a description of the Private Character Editor- Eudcedit

You could also use the EQ field to create a strike through and assign it to an AutoCorrect entry.

{EQ \o (0,/)}

The easiest is, probably Alt+0216 or Alt+0248 It's a Latin "oh" with stroke, but it looks close.

The HTML character code is ø ø


See all Topics

Friday, July 28, 2017

Footnote Customization

Line it out


In Normal View:
  1. Go to View>Footnotes.

  2. Click the All Footnotes box arrow, and select Footnote Separator from the drop-down list.

  3. Click on the existing separator line and delete it.

  4. Go to Format>Borders And Shading.

  5. On the Borders tab, select the border you want.

  6. Select the color you want.

  7. Click OK.
You will see the new separator line for your footnote will appear in Print Layout or Print Preview.

Also:
Footnote FAQ


See all Topics

Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Numbers to Words

Cardinal numbers



Word can format numbers in several ways when they are represented by field codes. The DollarText field code is one choice.

Press Ctrl-F9 to insert a pair of field-code delimiters, which resemble boldface curly brackets {}. (The brackets can not be entered directly from the keyboard).

Between the field-code delimiters, enter = followed by the number. Then append the DollarText field switch. The result should look like this:

{ =34,582.13 \*DollarText \*Firstcap }
There are spaces in the field. Here is how it should be entered:
{space=34,582.13space\*DollarTextspace
\*Firstcapspace}

Right-click on the field and choose Update Field. You should now see the number spelled out in words:

Thirty-four thousand five hundred eighty-two dollars and 13/100.

Word provides some other numeric field codes. Here are a few of the more useful ones:

{ =42 \*CardText } - forty-two
(Spell our page numbers with a fields like this { PAGE \*CardText \*Caps } )

{ =42 \*OrdText } - forty-second

{ =42 \*Ordinal } - 42nd

{ =42 \*ROMAN } - XLII

KB article:

How to Use DollarText to Convert Numbers to Cardinal Text

and:

Microsoft Word - General Switches for Field Codes

For Access see:
Access - Numbers to Words

To create Cardinal numbers in Excel see:
Excel - Numbers to Words


See all Topics

Thursday, June 29, 2017

Word Calendar Template

Take control


"Customizable Word template for generating and printing Outlook weekly and monthly calendars.
  • Print any Outlook calendar that you have access to, including calendars from other users' mailboxes and Public Folders.
  • Add color coding by category or by type of item (one-day event, multiple-day event, etc.)
  • Specify time and date formats and the title for the calendar.
  • Freeware.
Outlook 365



See more at Slipstick.com


See all Topics

Sunday, June 11, 2017

Easy Reading

Clean up the screen


Word 2003 introduced a view of documents that eliminates a lot of the distractions of Task Panes and toolbars.

It's called Reading Layout.

Office.Microsoft.com:
Word Reading Layout View



In 2007-16 it's View>Full Screen Reading


See all Topics

Monday, June 05, 2017

Click to Type

MacroButton



When you open a template for a Memo, Letter, or Fax, you will see a field like this:

[Click here and type Name]


When you click and type the field goes away.

Here's how to create on of your own.

  1. Place the Insertion point in the document where you want the field.

  2. Hit Ctrl+F9 to create field brackets {}.
    (they can not be just typed in)

  3. Between the brackets type:

    {MACROBUTTON NoMacro [Click here and type junk]}


  4. Press Alt+F9 and the field code will disappear.


For more information see The Word MVP site:
 Using MacroButton fields.


See all Topics

Monday, May 15, 2017

Calendar Control

Click for Date



Office is full of ActiveX controls that provide extra gadgets in applications. One of these devices is a functioning calendar selection tool.

"Did you ever need to check a date before you typed it into a document?

This tutorial shows you how to create a pop-up calendar using the Microsoft ActiveX Calendar Control that is installed with Office.

You will be able to call up the calendar with a keyboard shortcut, from a toolbar button or menu, or from the right-click context menu.

When you select a date, it is automatically entered into your document at the insertion point."


A Pop-up Calendar for Word

Martin Green


See all Topics

Saturday, May 13, 2017

Update the FUI Ribbon

Let the add-ins begin


It is said that the Office 2007 Graphical User Interface Ribbon cannot be as easily changed or modified like it has been in previous versions.

This may be partially true, but not all is lost.

Here is some information from the equine's mouth:


Learn how to customize the Ribbon user interface (UI) in the 2007+ Microsoft Office release. Also learn how new features in Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Tools for the 2007+ Microsoft Office System support RAD development of Ribbon customization. (40 printed pages)

Customizing the Office Ribbon


Monsieurs MS also have a downloadable spreadsheets with the Control IDs. There are files for 2003 as well.

Lists of Control IDs


2007 Office System Add-In: Icons Gallery

2013 Icons Gallery



See all Topics

Tuesday, May 09, 2017

Look for Bullets

Find lists


Unless you have used a style to create a bulleted list, it is difficult to search for them.

This macro locates any bulleted list (wdListBullet) in your document.


Sub FindBullet()
Dim rngTarget As Word.Range
Dim oPara As Word.Paragraph

Set rngTarget = Selection.Range
With rngTarget
Call .Collapse(wdCollapseEnd)
.End = ActiveDocument.Range.End

For Each oPara In .Paragraphs
If oPara.Range.ListFormat.ListType = _
WdListType.wdListBullet Then
oPara.Range.Select
Exit For
End If
Next
End With
End Sub

Other choices might be:
wdListListNumOnly
ListNum fields that can be used in the body of a paragraph.

wdListMixedNumbering
Mixed numeric list.

wdListNoNumbering
List with no bullets, numbering, or outlining.

wdListOutlineNumbering
Outlined list.

wdListPictureBullet
Picture bulleted list.

wdListSimpleNumbering
Simple numeric list.



See all Topics

Saturday, January 28, 2017

Quick Parts

Reusable

Word 2007+ uses the term Quick Parts for Building Blocks.
You can use any kind of content, including pictures, tables, document properties, hyperlinks, and more to create a building block.

Blogs.MSDN.com


See all Topics

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Windows Split

Easy trick

Here's how to split the open window and/or create new windows.

SaraFord


See all Topics

Friday, November 25, 2016

Monday, October 17, 2016

Custom QAT

Access additions


Applications put most of the most-used commands on the Home tab's Ribbon, not everything is there. You may want to add Close, Close All, or Print commands, for example.

In the upper Left corner is the Quick Access Tool bar.

To update the QAT:
Click the down-pointing arrow to the right of the QAT.
Choose any common commands (New, Close, Print, etc.) by checking the option.


See all Topics

Thursday, August 18, 2016

Change Insert Picture Target

File location


If you would like to specify the folder Word will default to when you go to Inset>Picture:
  1. From the Tools menu, click Options.

  2. Select the File Locations tab.

  3. Select ClipArt Pictures from the File Types list.

  4. Click the Modify button.

  5. Navigate to the folder you want Word to default to.

  6. Click OK. OK.


In 2007-10, you'll find the entry by
  1. Click on the Office logo

  2. Go to Word Options>Advanced

  3. Scroll down to General

  4. Click the File Locations button



See all Topics

Friday, February 12, 2016

Custom Properties

Use your own


If you look at Properties on the File menu, you will see a number of entries. You can also create your own custom properties.

Click the Custom tab and add what you want.



To insert your own properties in a document, use Insert>Fields

  1. Choose Document Information in the list of Categories
  2. In the list of Field Names, choose DocProperty
  3. Click the Field Codes button
  4. Add the property name to the Field
  5. Click OK
  6. Click OK. Word to inserts the value.


Here's the "click path" for 2007:



Also: Word.Tips.Net:
Creating word custom doc properties from code


See all Topics